Action for Healthy Kids Webinar Series - Winter/Spring 2016

Action for Healthy Kids

Winter/Spring 2016 Webinars 
 

These nine can't-miss webinars have everything you need to create a heath promoting school including:

  • hosting health fairs and Every Kid Healthy Week events;

  • engaging parents in school health; and

  • growing your school garden.

Register for one or all of them today. 

 

Keep Moving: Physical Activity in Schools 
Tuesday, February 2 
3:00-4:00 p.m. ET, 2:00-3:00 p.m. CT, 1:00-2:00 p.m. MT, 12:00 -1:00 p.m. PT
 
Cold weather? Winter blues? Learn about the latest trends and resources to keep your students moving throughout the school year. 

Wellness Wednesday: How to Host a Health & Wellness Fair 
Wednesday, February 10 
4:00-4:30 p.m. ET, 3:00-3:30 p.m. CT, 2:00-2:30 p.m. MT, 1:00-1:30 p.m. PT 

Learn key steps for hosting a successful health and wellness fair at your school. Whether you’re a health fair veteran or you’ve never planned one before, we have great tips, tricks and tools for you. 

Every Kid Healthy Week Webinar 
Wednesday, February 17 
2:00-3:00 p.m. ET, 1:00-2:00 p.m. CT, Noon-1:00 p.m. MT; 11:00-Noon p.m. PT
 
Action for Healthy Kids is proud to work with schools nationwide to promote Every Kid Healthy™ – a national movement to make all schools healthier places. During Every Kid healthy Week (April 25-29, 2016) schools across the country will host events that highlight their great work and encourage students and their families to eat better and be active every day. Join this webinar to get additional information and resources to host your Every Kid Healthy Week event. 

School Breakfast: Creative Breakfast Service Models 
Tuesday, February 23 
4:00-5:00 p.m. ET, 3:00-4:00 p.m.CT, 2:00-3:00 p.m. MT, 1:00-2:00 p.m. PT
 
Are you looking for unique and creative ways to move breakfast out of the cafeteria and increase participation among students at your school? Join us to learn creative alternative models that have been effective in other schools. 

Wellness Wednesday: Growing your School Garden 
Wednesday, March 9 
4:00-4:30 p.m. ET, 3:00-3:30 p.m. CT, 2:00-2:30 p.m. MT, 1:00-1:30 p.m. PT
 
Spring is near so we have ideas and resources for parents, teachers, and students to incorporate into your school and/or community garden. Join us as we share lessons from successful school garden programs that you can begin to incorporate as part of your school wellness activities. 

Engaging Your Parent Community in School Health and Wellness 
Tuesday, March 15 
2:00-3:00 p.m. ET, 1:00-2:00 p.m. CT, 12:00-1:00 p.m. MT, 11:00-12:00 p.m. PT 

Parents are largely an untapped resource in the movement towards healthier schools. This webinar will feature success stories, effective strategies and practical pointers for engaging parents as powerful partners in your school wellness efforts. For school health teams and community members, or join this webinar to become a parent wellness champion. 

Get Recognized as a Health Promoting School: The Role of School Nutrition Staff 
Wednesday, March 16 
2:00–3:00 p.m. ET, 1:00–2:00 p.m. CT, 12:00–1:00 p.m. MT, 11:00–12:00 p.m. PT
 
Are you a school nutrition staff member who is ready to get your school recognized for its efforts to enhance student health? Join this webinar to learn more about applying for the HealthierUS School Challenge: Smarter Lunchrooms (HUSSC: SL) initiative. The USDA's HUSSC: SL is a voluntary initiative established for schools to get recognized for their efforts to improve food and beverages, teach kids about nutrition, and help kids be more physically active. This webinar will provide an overview of the initiative and take a deeper look at the application criteria related to school nutrition. 

Wellness Wednesday: Volunteers for Healthy Schools 
Wednesday, April 13 
4:00-4:30 p.m. ET, 3:00-3:30 p.m. CT, 2:00-2:30 p.m MT, 1:00-1:30 p.m PT 

Learn ways to integrate volunteers into your health and wellness initiatives at your school. Whether you currently have active volunteers or are looking to utilize the help of new volunteers, you'll walk away with tips and ideas on how volunteers can provide an extra helping hand or a needed, valuable skill set when it comes to your health and wellness programming. 

Wellness Wednesday: Creating Walk and Bike to School Programs that Engage Kids and Families 
Wednesday, May 11 
4:00-4:30 p.m. ET, 3:00-3:30 p.m. CT, 2:00-2:30 p.m. MT, 1:00-1:30 p.m. PT
 
Learn about Walk and Bike to School programs that will get your kids moving and ready to learn. Walk and Bike to School Programs are a great way to engage families and community members in your health and wellness efforts.